Spotlight: Homeschool Dads

With Father’s Day right around the corner, I want to offer a glimpse into the hearts and minds of homeschool dads. Dads, I want you to hear from a homeschool mom directly, we could not do what we do day in and day out without you! Your support, your ear, your advice, your cuddles – all of it means the world to us! Now, read on below some heartfelt responses I gathered from a few real life homeschool dads, right here in Wichita!


Q. What is your role in your family’s homeschool?

A. “I feel my most important role, out of the many, is to encourage and empower my boys to grow to be the men God has called them to be.” – Curtis C.

Q. What is your favorite part about being a homeschool dad?

A. “Relationships, relationships, relationships. I also get to disciple my kids as part of the process. There is no greater honor for a dad than being able to watch your kids grow and homeschooling gives me a front row seat (a seat that is usually given to others).” – Jeff G.

Q. What is one thing you wish your wife knew about being a homeschool dad?

A. “It makes me so happy to see you teaching the kids, but take it easy on yourself. What we have is a real blessing and I’m so glad we are on this adventure together.” – Dean H.

Q. What is one thing you wish your children knew about being a homeschool dad?

A. “I’m so glad you get to go to school at home. I hope you learn about my job, hard work, cooking, keeping house, loving marriages, loving families, communication, and many others things from spending so much time with this family. I hope you learn more than what we can teach you at home. I hope you never miss the opportunity to learn something from a new experience. Above all else, I hope you learn love for each other, obedience to you parents, and that “normal” life can be whatever you make it. Don’t be afraid to do something different.” – Dean H.

Q. What is one thing you wish public school dads knew about being a homeschool dad?

A. “We only get our children for so long. There is so much pressure in the world to distance yourself from others, be successful above all else, and put personal pleasures first. We have an opportunity to provide an alternative example. We should strive to build a home life that teaches them the importance of togetherness, love for others, respect, hard work, faith, and creativity. My hope is that we as father’s can guide them in this pursuit and that they can learn from us in the safety and comfort of their own home. This is not to shelter them, but to build them up and prepare them to live good and wholesome lives. We can work hard to be good examples so that we teach our children not only while they live in our homes, but for as long as we are on this Earth with them.” – Dean H.


Wow! I really could not have answered any better myself. Thank you to all the dads who participated in making this post! Thank you to all homeschool dads everywhere for all you do for your families! From everyone here at KSHE, we hope you have a Happy Father’s Day!

Published by Olivia Hayse

Author and host of "The Mama Marketer" blog and podcast, Homeschool Mama, Co-Founder of Hayse Marketing, Currently Homesteading in Kansas.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started